Upcoming Events


Munster Club Junior Championship Final Match Report   29/10/2019

Junior A Munster Final

Experienced Donoughmore Deny Galtee Munster Title    

Galtee Rovers/St. Pecaun’s  0-8

Donoughmore 1-12

Galtee Rovers lost out to a more experienced Donoughmore side in their Munster Final Clash on Saturday afternoon last October 26th in Mallow. Played in October coloured weather there was a sharp nip in the air as the ball was thrown in.

Galtee Rovers dominated much of the opening ten minutes of the half but it was Donoughmore who were to get the ball rolling and had registered 1-1 from the boot of Aileen Buckley before Galtee’s Sara Finnane converted a free. Aileen Buckley was proving a handful up front and was the go to player for her side as she pointed three further points before Aoibhe Gayson Molloy went up the field to narrow the gap. Former Cork Dual Star Rena Buckley added her name to the score sheet before Alison Lonergan got a brace of points before the half time break. The half time score stood at Galtee Rovers 0-4  Donoughmore 1-6.

On the restart again Galtee’s had forced much of the play into Donoughmore’s half but it Aileen Buckley who was again on hand to widen the gap. Galtee Rover’s hit a purple patch scoring three unanswered one each from Ciara Halpin, Sara Finnane and Edith Carroll to put just a goal between the sides.  A pointed free from Rena Buckley extended the lead again. Galtees were piling on the pressure and a sin binning for Donoughmore’s Amanda Greene in the 49th minute saw her side reduced to 14 players. However Galtees failed to capitalise on this and despite creating a number of chances were unable to convert them.

Galtee’s were also reduced to 14 players in the 25th minute when Edith Carroll fouled the incoming Niamh Lohan to concede a penalty. However Donoughmore’s Rena Buckley failed to convert sending the ball wide. Galtee’s were still battling hard but alas it was not to be there day Donoughmore tagging on three more points. The final score was Galtee Rovers 0-8 Donoughmore 1-12

Teams and Scorers

Galtee Rovers /St. Pecaun’s

Megan Tynan, Aoife Flynn, Megan Heffernan, Eimear Gleeson, Darielle Ronan, Katie Quirke, Kate Flannery, Emer McCarthy, Aoibhe Gayson Molloy (0-1), Roisin Finnane, Edith Carroll (0-1), Ciara Halpin (0-1), Sara Finnane (0-3), Patrice Ryan, Alison Lonergan (0-2). Subs used; Kate Gayson Molloy for P. Ryan, Sinead Hayes for D. Ronan.


Catriona O’Connell, Aoife Barrett, Aisling Barrett, Linda McCarthy, Aoife Quigley, Michelle Dilworth (0-1), Deirdre Dineen, Rena Buckley (0-3), Claudia Keane, Eimear O’Reilly, Niamh Lohan (0-1), Amanda Greene, Jenny Brew Dinan,  Eileen Lyons, Aileen Buckley (1-7). Subs used; Aoife Condon for A. Barrett, Aileen Healy for E. O’Reilly

Referee Patrick Smith (Waterford)

Main Sponsors

Player Profile

Orla Winston