u-16 Munster Championship Round 1


u-16 Munster Championship Round 1

March 08, 2020

Score: Tipperary 6-7  Clare 0-1

Date & Location: 08/03/2020 Meelick

Referee: Eamonn Moran

Photo Credit: Cahir Media 

A dominant second half performance by Tipperary in the opening round of the Munster u-16 Championship played on Sunday afternoon last March 8th, saw them record a 24 point victory and hold the Banner County to a single point for the entire game. Played in Meelick, Co. Clare the opening half was a low scoring affair with full forward Sara Finnane opening Tipperary’s account with a goal in the 3rd minute after a surging run through the defence.

Clare responded with a pointed free from Grainne Burke. The only score that Clare would register in the entire game. Despite this the opening half was an evenly fought game with both defences on top. Tipperary registered two further points in the half one each from Saoirse Keating and Danielle Ryan. The half time score Tipperary 1-2 Clare 0-1.

On the resumption however Tipperary blitzed the Clare defence. The ball barely thrown in Neassa Towey found the back of the net for Tipp’s second goal this was quickly followed by a point from Clara English and Sara Finnane’s second goal of the game. 

 Eleven points now separated the sides and the half was just six minutes old. The tone was set for the half and Tipperary registered a further 3-4  with scores coming from Neassa Towey (1-0) registering her second goal of the game,  Daneille Ryan(1-1), Niamh Costigan (1-1) and Clara English (0-2).

Teams and scorers, 


Eimear Looby (Aherlow), Aoife Flynn (Galtee Rovers), Niamh Dunne (Moyne/Templetouhy), Nia Donovan(Arravale Rovers), Caoimhe Grace (Cahir), Kate Flannery (Galtee Rovers), Nora Martin (Sliabh na mBan), Kate Moore (Moyle Rovers), Kate Delaney (Templemore), Niamh Costigan (1-1) (Cahir), Neassa Towey (2-0) (Templemore), Jill Johnston (Templemore), Danielle Ryan (1-2) (Templemore), Sara Finnane  (2-0) (Galtee Rovers), Clara English (0-3)(Ardfinnan), Emma Leahy (Moyne/Templetouhy), Saoirse Keating (Clonmel Commercials), Emma Daly (Cappawhite), Kelly Ryan (Fethard), Isobel Mater (St. Patricks), Kaitlyn Downy (Boherlahan/Dualla), Aoife Dwyer (Thurles Sarsfields), Hazel Brennan (Moyle Rovers), Caoimhe Molloy Hickey (Arravale Rovers), Ally Ryan (Sliabh na mBan), Helen Cleere (Moyne/Templetouhy), Maedbh Mulcahy (Clerihan), Eva Sumner (Moyne/Templetouhy), Niamh Sharpe (Arravale Rovers).


Katie McMahon (Kilmurry Ibrickane), Teegan Wade (Doonbeg), Hannah Doyle, Emer Hynes (Clooney Quin), Gabriella Norwicz (Banner), Maria Bermingham( Kilrush), Orna Moynihan (Clooney Quin), Joanna Doohan (Capt) Kilmurry Ibrickane) Sarah Looney (Milltown), Caoimhe Cahill (Banner), Eimer Clune (Doorabarefield), Amelie Malice (Eire Og), Edel McNamara (Kilmihill), Grainne Burke (Banner), Aisling Browne (Kilrush), Chantelle Meaney (Cooracalre), Clara Meane (Fergus Rovers, Siobhan Marrin (West Clare Gaels, Lauren Conway (Doonbeg), Aisling Costell (Fergus Rovers), Rhianna Frawley (Clu Gaels), Rachel Tubridy (Kilmurry Ibrickane), Caoimhe Ryan (Banner), Emily Barry (Doorabarefield) Cliodhna Queally (Milltown, Aimee Barrett (Clarecastle), Roisin O’Mullane (Clooney Quin) Katie Arthur (Newmarket) Amy Flavin (Kilrush), Aoife Crowley (Kilmihill, Caoilainn McNamara (Doorabarefield) Nell Walsh (West Clare Gaels)