All Ireland u-14 Championship Semi Final v Wexford


All Ireland u-14 Championship Semi Final v Wexford

June 16, 2019

Tipp Through To All Ireland After Heart-Stopping Finish

Tipperary 1-9

Wexford 1-6

Tipperary U14s are through to the All Ireland Championship Silver Series Final after they defeated Wexford in the Semi Finals on Saturday afternoon June 15th last in Sean Treacy Park, Tipperary town.

An exciting game from beginning to end Tipperary went on the attack driving at the Wexford defence in waves. Credit the Wexford they were in mean form and almost ten minutes had elapsed before Tipperary finally registered their first sore and the first point from Nicole Delaney. Wexford were quick to respond with a pointed free from Katie Law. Again both defences were in top with neither side prepared to yield and it was another 8 minutes before Tipperary’s Nicole Delaney pointed again. Tipperary began to dominate Ava Ryan widening the gap with a pointed free less than a minute later. All the play was now in the Wexford end and Tipperary made the most of it with a Katie O’Connor goal. Tipperary were now 1-3 to Wexford’s  0-1 with just ten minutes remaining in the half.  However it was Tipp’s turn now to feel the heat as Wexford brought the game back up the field. Tipp were holding firm but three consecutive frees in the dying minutes of the game converted by sharp shooter Katie Law brought Wexford right back into the game. The half time score was Tipperary 1-3 Wexford 0-4.

On the restart Tipperary were out of the blocks fastest and with a point from Helen Cleere. Katie O’Connor quickly added her own point to this and a converted free from Ava Ryan  put Tipp back in the driving seat. Wexford hadn’t gone away though and a free by Katie Law took a deflection landing in the back of the Tipperary goal. Two points just separated the sides again.  Tipperary were quick to respond and directly from the kickout Katie O’Connor pointed at the opposite end. Two more pointed frees from Katie Law pulled the deficit back to the minimum with just ten minutes left on the clock. It was nail biting stuff as the game raced from end to end. Ciara O’Hora giving Tipp that extra edge with a converted free. Six minutes remaining and Tipperary were 1-8 to 1-6 up.  Two minutes into injury time Ciara O’Hora wrapped up the scoring for the day.

Teams and scorers


Muireann Treacy (Slieve Felim Rapparees), Niamh Hayes (Galtee Rovers), Sarah Ryan (Arravale Rovers), Aileen O’Farrell (Lattin Cullen), Aoibheann Column (Fethard), Mary Ann Fitzgerald (St. Patrick’s), Eva Cremins (Arravale Rovers), Nicole Delaney (0-2) (Fethard), Caoimhe Molloy Hickey (Arravale Rovers), Ciara O’Hora (0-2) (Arravale Rovers), Helen Cleere (0-1) (Moyne Templetouhy) , Ava Ryan (Capt) (0-2) (Moyne Templetouhy), Katie O’Connor  (1-2) (Ardfinnan), Eva  Sumner (Moyne Templetouhy), Grace Fitzpatrick Ryan (Holycross Ballycahill). Subs Kate Carr (Holycross Ballycahill), Aine O’Brien (Arravale Rovers), Emer Roche (Arravale Rovers), Leah Murphy (Sliabh na Mban), Keelan Hanrahan (Sliabh na Mban), Aine Carew (Lattin Cullen), Hazel Brennan (Moyle Rovers), Aoife O’Brien (Mullinahone) Eabha Slattery (Ardfinnan), Aedin McCormack (Moyle Rovers), Caitlin Shelly (Moycarkey Borris), Ciara Shelly (Moycarkey Borris), Emer Dwan, (Boherlahan), Leah Flannery (Cahir), Nora Martin (Sliabh na Mban). Management Team; Manager Ed Burke. Mentors Paul Stapleton, Paul Carew, Michelle Caplis and Annemarie Martin (FLO). Physio Aidan Bradshaw.

Tipperary are now through to the All Ireland Final where they will meet near neighbours Limerick. Venue and date to be confirmed.


Erin Carley (Starlights), Orla Griffin (St. Martins), Yvonne Hennebry (Ballyhogue), Katie Bowe (Baile Dubh Tire), Niamh Cullen (St. Brigid’s Blackwater), Amy Doyle (B allyhogue), Aoife Devereux (St. Fintans), Robyn O’Connor (Glynn Barntown), Abigail Clarke-Hanglow (St. Fintans), Hannah Kehoe (Taghmon/Camross), Aoife Farrell (HWH Bunclody), Niamh English (Adamstown), Katie Law (1-6) ( (Clonard/Volunteers), Victoria Rochford (St. Annes), Eimear O’Connor (Clonard/Volunteers). Subs Saoirse McDonald (Kilanerin), Serena Reville (Bannow/Ballymitty), Lucy Fitzgerald (Clonard/Volunteers), Abby Whitty (Gusserane), Orla Byrne (St. Annes), Rosie Dunbar (HWH Bunclody), Molly O’Gorman (Taghmon/Camross), Mia Davy Edmunds (Ballygarret Realta na Mara), Isobel English (Adamstown), Amelia Furlong (Starlights), Niamh Bates (Adamstown), Evelyn Rawson (St. Annes), Kennedy Cullen (Kilmore), Jane Murphy (Glynn Barnstown). Management Team Manager Shane Murphy. Mentors Kevin Bates, Aisling Carey, Ken Rawson, Aoife Newe, Niamh Devereux (FLO).