MLGFA Minor Championship Rnd 1 Vs Waterford


MLGFA Minor Championship Rnd 1 Vs Waterford

February 11, 2024

Munster Minor Championship 2024.

Round 1

Tipperary v Waterford.

Saturday 10th February, 2pm.

Bansha, Co. Tipperary.

Today saw the opening round of the Munster Minor Championship played between Tipperary and Waterford with the Tipperary side having home advantage here.

On a wet and dreary Saturday afternoon both teams took to the field in what could be considered nothing short of poor weather conditions.

The game, despite the conditions, got off to a fine lively start with Tipperary falling short of the posts and Waterford failing to capitalise from a number of frees. The opening score from an Issy Carr point after 5 minutes led to a surge of scoring with Ciara O’Hora splitting the posts on 6 mins and 7 minutes and finding the back of the net following a turn over off the resulting kick out.

Following this dominant patch Waterford upped the ante and put the Tipp backs under pressure, some great defending from Caitlin Shelly and a fantastic block from Paula Quirke ensured that the Tipperary slate was kept clean.

The game progressed in this fashion with several attacking opportunities from both sides which were defended very well under the difficult conditions. The game itself had a very defensive set up with Waterford often employing a blanket defence of 12 players behind the ball.

On 13 minutes the deadlock for dominance was finally broken by a fantastic passage of play where some great defending denied Molly Crowe of a certain goal but Ciara O’Hora retained possession to chip over a point.

A further 15 minutes passed with numerous chances for both sides with some great open, fast flowing football, it took a well placed and well taken free from Ciara O’Hora to impact the scoreboard again. The resulting kickout came under pressure from Ciara O’Hora who sought the net again but the ball, when recycled back out found Eva Cremins who was well positioned to get herself on the scoresheet. Seconds before the half time whistle Ciara O’Hora increased her tally to 1 -5 with the last point of the half in Tipps favour.

HALF TIME SCORE                 TIPPERARY 1-7                         WATERFORD 0-0

With no let up in the rain and conditions underfoot deteriorating, the second half recommenced with a highly invigorated away side who opened their account in the 1st minute with a well pointed free from Leah Browne.

With their tails still up, Waterford were denied a certain goal chance by a superb block from Sinead O’Carroll who proceeded to carry the ball clearly out of the danger zone.

With frees starting to become the dominant factor of the game and Tipperary now turning to a defensive style of play, scoring chances were few and far between. Following a brief defensive mix-up, Waterford found themselves celebrating a goal, only to be denied because of a square ball.

41 minutes into the game, Tipperary were reduced to 14 players as a result of a yellow card. With both teams pushing for scores but the defensive play being the overriding factor at this juncture missed opportunities from both sides led to a sense of frustration. The teams were balanced at 14 aside following a yellow card issued to Waterford. It took to the 53rd minute before either side registered another score with a free from Waterford’s Leah Browne.

At this point, both benches were actively brought into play with a raft of subs stepping up to the mark making an impact. On 27 minutes following an excellent passage of play, Waterford increased their tally to 3 points from the foot of Ava Connolly.

With the running clock at 40 minutes, Waterford’s Lia Ni Arta popped over what was to be the final score of the game.

FINAL SCORE                         TIPPERARY 1-7                   WATERFORD 0-4

The game was played in very challenging conditions and there is little time now for both sides to recover before their next outing on Saturday the 17th.


Sarah Smith, Leanna Coppinger, Sarah Luttrell, Caitlin Shelly,

Emaleigh Cuddihy, Eva Cremins (0-1), Paula Quirke, Sinead O’Carroll, Ellie Franklin, Issy Carr (0-1),

Molly Crowe, Emily Spillane, Emer Dwan, Aedin McCormack ©, Ciara O’Hora (1 -5 )(3 f)


Lucy O’Brien for Emily Spillane (25 mins), Hannah Butler for Ellie Franklin (Half Time), Maeve O’Callaghan for Emer Dwan (41 mins), Aoife Shelly for Aedin McCormack (54 mins), Amy Reddan for Sinead O’Carroll (69 mins)